Book Review: Revenant (Lords of Deliverance #6) by Larissa Ione

3.5

Revenant 1

Reaver(Lord of Deliverance#5) was good, but I had been curious about Revenant ever since his origin came to light. Larissa Ione did not disappoint. Before proceeding any further let me be clear, this book should not be read as a stand-alone or out-of-order.

Revenant is the story of Reaver’s twin brother. Reaver ascended to the level of a Radiant in heaven and to balance the scales, Revenant was transformed into a Shadow Angel, which meant that he attained a level of power that made him second only to Satan. In addition, their memories were restored. On finding out the truth, Revenant went to embrace his brother only to be rejected. As a result he vowed to Reaver,

The very day I learned about you, I came to you as a brother. But all you saw was an enemy and a fiend. Now that is all you will ever see.

Revenant has spent a tortured life in hell and wants to maneuver his way out of Satan’s clutches but, since heaven does not seem to welcome Revenant as one of their own, desperation and hopelessness are all that he has. Thus, begins a treacherous game where Revenant has survive without any friends.

I’ve read a number of stories where the hero had been abused as a child or so on. I can hardly count two or three instances at most where I liked the story. Not because I have anything against such a plot but rather because the authors mucked it up. Either the torture was overdone or the after-effects on the character were empathized too much. Specifically for those stories where the characters possesses an immortal life-span, it has been hard for me to find the right balance.Thankfully, Ione did not mess it up. If anything, she has done a wonderful job of maintaining the tumultuous reality of the present with the horrifying memories of the past.

I really loved the character of Revenant. He is dashing, retains the good sense of humour and mischief that should have been lost a long time back, and he knows right from wrong. He does not give excuses, carries weight on his shoulders but he accepts it instead of begrudging it. He is quite human in his failings and that is mainly due to a lifetime of misunderstandings and wrong assumptions, and not all of those can be parked at his gate. Revenant was misjudged so many times, by so many of my favourite characters from the series that I could not help being angry. Though, I could sympathise with the realistic way the characters reacted. But I have to say that I felt that the heroes failed to act like heroes.

The female protagonist, Blaspheme (I kinda love that name) is a balanced character but has some serious secrets. Nature-wise, she is very much like Revenant. The only difference is that she could be mature and sweet where he is slightly reckless and bitter. They are a good match. But, even though I could see the sexual attraction, I couldn’t see the connection that was supposed to be there. Yes, they gave each other chances and time and again overcame misunderstandings and wrongful assumptions but, apart from the fact that they were ready to go the distance with each other, there wasn’t much in my eyes that made for a deeper connect. To be honest, if one removes the erotica scenes, this book could be the story of Blaspheme and Revenant as individuals.

I’d like to mention that I quite admired the fact that Revenant chose to disengage himself from those who never called him as their own. By the end of the book Revenant’s maturity increased but, finally, he did receive the recognition that he deserved. Points to the author for making it happen the right way. The epilogue given on Larrisa Ione’s blog was a good finish for this story.

I’ve read a number of books from the Demonica series, and I have read all of the main novels in the Lords of Deliverance Series, still while reading Revenant, I felt like I missed some of the main characters. The characters I came across instead made me feel that maybe the Demonica world has extended itself a bit too much and the expansion is getting a bit overwhelming.

Moving on, Revenant consisted of the right amount of twists and the most I could predict of the story was maybe 5% . I loved the fact that the villains got their asses kicked (it had been a long-time coming). What I didn’t like was the whole time-limit spin to the story. Even though there were positive signs for the future, I felt disappointed that after almost 5,000 years of suffering, there is no concrete happy ending for Revenant. At least I felt that way.

The novel contains angst but it is not overdone for which I am grateful. This book did not make me cry but it made me feel the emotions in rhythm with the protagonists. The banter was fun and nice but I liked Revenant’s dry humour better. The author did a good job with the creation and depiction of the fantasy world in the novel and knowing that it has ended, I was a bit nostalgic at first. However after finishing it I found out about Larissa Ione’s plans regarding a related series with characters I am familiar with, and that made me feel good.

The end of any series should leave you happy. Revenant is really good in that respect. Good enough that I know I’ll re-read it again.

About Amethyst

Hi! My love for reading began at the age of 9, and now at the age of 23, its a passion. I read almost all genres (though I am moody about them). I prefer fiction and dislike tragic endings. And of course, I love good romances. View all posts by Amethyst

Leave a Reply

