Book Review: Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7) by Thea Harrison

2.5

Night's Honor

After Kinked, Thea Harrison had left me unsatisfied. I like most of her books in the Elder Series, and few of them, I just loved! But Kinked wasn’t as good as the others. And Night’s Honor, though good, is still not as good as her best works.

First of all, I didn’t actually plan on reading this novel. Reason being the central character. I have nothing against Xavier, it is just that I never got to know him, not even on the sidelines. So I wasn’t greatly interested. However, as the release date came close, I decided I will give this series another chance.

The story revolves around Xavier. He is dangerous, and serves as the right hand to Julian, the Nightkind King. Tess is on the run from her previous employer. She is desperate, and finally opts to venture into the Nightkind demesne. She needs a job, Xavier provides it.

The beginning, and the way Tess has been portrayed draws interest. After a few lines, once I had my grasp on the situation, I was anticipating a good read. I was disappointed.

Tess confronted Xavier, and nothing amazing happened. In fact, nothing amazing happened in the whole book. Tess’s fear of Vampires seems to be the only problem for her personal and professional life. And the situation she is stuck in, is resolved without any big scenes, though the author does try to make a big deal out of it.

There are small twists which are fun, but nothing is unpredictable. What remained a mystery to Tess til the end, was never a mystery to me. In fact, by the time I was halfway through the book, I was able to guess what the finale would entail. It took out all the fun.

The story is good on its own, but fails to evoke any emotions and falls quite flat when it comes to the action part. The romance is okay, but again, there are a few related instances which seem ridiculous and impractical. I like romances which avoid love-at-first-sight theme, but the romantic development between Xavier and Tess somehow never touched base. The characters never endeared me either. However, we did get a different kind of view at the world which exists in this series.

The only good thing about this novel is that it got me interested in the next one in the series. Though, after the disappointment this book has been, I doubt I will pick it up.

About Amethyst

Hi! My love for reading began at the age of 9, and now at the age of 23, its a passion. I read almost all genres (though I am moody about them). I prefer fiction and dislike tragic endings. And of course, I love good romances. View all posts by Amethyst

One response to “Book Review: Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7) by Thea Harrison

  • Book Review: Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8) by Thea Harrison | gemstreetreviews

    […] Nevertheless, I will credit the author for a few well written scenes. On the whole, while I found the last book just tolerable enough, this book was a definite step-up. The writing and plot-development was good enough to keep me interested in the series still. The good thing is that the next book in the series is about Graydon. I am happy with that. It will be good to read a Wyr romance once again. For my review of Night’s Honor (Elder Races, #7) click here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

