Book Review: These Broken Stars (The Starbound Trilogy #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

3 gems

 

13138635

These Broken Stars has a beautiful cover and an equally intriguing blurb. Going into this book, I thought I’m going to fall in love with it. After all, everyone I know has loved this book. But, alas! For me it was disappointing, if anything.

Lilac LaRoux is the daughter of the richest man on the planet. She can get anywhere with just her name. Which also means, consorting with anyone her father does not approve of can be deadly to the other person. Traver Merendsen is a young war hero who comes from nothing. He has to work hard for everything he wants, unlike Lilac. He knows that girls like her are not worth the trouble but, he finds himself drawn to her. Until she puts a break to his advances. Lilac had long ago learned the art of pushing people away. She knows how dangerous her father can be, and if her father ever found out about Traver, he could be in serious trouble.

What Traver and Lilac never realised was that they might have to depend each other for their survival. When the Icarus is yanked out of hyperspace and crashes on an unknown planet, Traver and Lilac are the only survivors. Lilac’s experience with electronics is what helped them survive the crash, and it will be Traver’s experience in the army that’ll keep them alive in the unknown planet.

I went into this book with very high hopes. I thought it would be a romance that will blow my mind, a story that’ll leave its imprint on me for a very long time. But it was just disappointing after all the hype.

I really enjoyed this book in the beginning. From when it started till around the time they crashed and then some more I thought this was going to be solid 4 gem book. But they spent more than 50% of the book just walking and walking and I got bored. Lilac was just too snobbish, though very determined. She tried her best to keep up with Traver and not complain. Much. And Traver spent most of his time thinking ill about her because she rejected him in a very public and insulting manner.

***Possible spoilers ahead***

Things do get a little better once Lilac and Traver become sort of friends. I loved how she took care of him when he was sick. It really was commendable. But a couple of chapters into this the authors introduced a twist. And it ruined it all for me. The voices that Lilac used to hear were always fishy, but when Traver also started seeing things, it was clear something was going on. But when we find out what they are and what they can do, and more importantly their hand in the big twist of this book, it was very anticlimactic for me.

I personally thought the authors were belittling a tragedy, which rubbed me the wrong way. Traver’s reaction was heartbreaking, no doubt. But before it could all sink in, the authors introduced the twist. It happened too soon IMO. Had the authors given it a little more time, and brought that twist in a more appropriate and significant manner, I just might have enjoyed this book more.

Another complaint I had with this book was its language. Being written by two different authors, I could actually differentiate between the language. Initially it was quite well written in a very mature manner, but around midway or about 60% of the book, the language became a lot more simplistic. There was a considerable change.

Overall it was an okay kind of book. The only reason I’m giving it 3 gems is because I enjoyed the beginning and a few parts toward the end.

About Garnet

Hi, I am a 22 year old romantic buff with a love of books. I love to read and watch light crime shows. But my major love resides in reading. I am a biggggg fan of romance of any kind. Historical, contemporary, PNR, UF YA/NA, Romantic suspense/thrillers. I abhor infedility and hate love triangles. All my reviews also appear on my solo blog The Ever Romantic Arts View all posts by Garnet

Leave a Reply

