Mid Year Book Freakout 2014

Mid-Year-Book-Freak-Out

 We just found out about the Mid Year Book Freakout questionnaire, thought it would be a superb idea to showcase some good reads from this year. Yes, it’s the almost the end of August and technically not mid-year, but, who cares?

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2014.

Amethyst – Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews.

Garnet – Same as Amethyst. Magic Breaks was the best thing that ever happened to me this year.

Sapphire – The City by Dean Koontz

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2014.

Amethyst – Shield Of Winter by Nalini Singh and Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews. Nalini Singh winds a new story into the Psy-changeling series, and she does it exceedingly well! On the other hand, Kate Daniel Series, just gets better and better.

Garnet – Once again I’ll have to agree with Amethyst. Shield of Winter and Magic Breaks were THE MOST AMAZING books of this year.

Sapphire – I haven’t read a great sequel so far this year.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Amethyst – Half A King by Joe Abercrombie.

Garnet – Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. I loved Anna and Lola, so I’m looking forward to Isla now.

Sapphire – The Wolf: A Novel by Lorenzo Carcaterra and Magic Breaks.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Amethyst – The Blood Of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Its the end of the series, and I just can’t wait.
Archangel’s Shadow by Nalini Singh. The story about Ash and Janvier, Yay!

Garnet – Echoes of Scotland Street by Samantha Young. Even though Hannah’s book was a disappointment, Cole was one of the best things about the book. Now I’m REALLY excited for his story.

Sapphire – The Retribution Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins. It’s been a long wait.

5. Biggest disappointment.

Amethyst – Fall From India Place by Samantha Young. This book was messed up. Shaedes of Gray by Amanda Bonilla. I couldn’t even finish it. The protagonist failed to hold my interest.

Garnet – Twisted by Emma Chase. I was really impressed by Tangled and enjoyed it too. But Tamed was a big disappointment. Fall From India Place by Samantha Young was totally unexpected. I didn’t even like the main characters much.

Sapphire – The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth, especially Books 2&3.

6. Biggest surprise.

Amethyst – Up From The Grave by Jeaniene Frost. There were few revelations and some actions in the book which were totally unexpected.

Garnet – Take by Ella Frank. It was an amazing book, but everything that happened in the book surprised me.

Sapphire – Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman: I have never read a book like this one, it’s so different. Fascinating and disturbing at the same time. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë: I’m still not sure what to make of this book.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Amethyst – Mark Lawrence. I have read just one book by him. I am eager to read another one. Going good so far.

Garnet – Suzanne Wright. I read her book Feral Sins just a couple of days ago and I loved it. The female protagonist was witty, sarcastic and funny and it was a really well written book.

Sapphire – No one at the moment.

8. Newest fictional crush.

Amethyst – No serious crush, but I liked Vasik and Aden from Shield Of Winter by Nalini Singh.

Garnet – Kaleb Krycheck from Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh. There was no way I wouldn’t have loved him. He was sinister-ly amazing. I fell in love with Curran all over again in Magic Breaks too.

Sapphire – Again, no one.

9. Newest favourite character.

Amethyst – Jorg from Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence. The guy was SMART.

Garnet – Julie Stanton from A Lesson in Temptation by Audra North. She was an amazing character. After being bullied in high school, she make a conscious effort to get out from under that pain. She makes it a point to be happy and do new things and live life on her own terms. Which for me was inspiring.

Sapphire – Mr. Yoshioka and Amalia from The City by Dean Koontz, amazing characters. Seven and Adam from The Lorien Legacies by Pittacus Lore.

10. Book that made you cry.

Amethyst – Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews. One hell of a ride, this one.

Garnet – Reaper’s Property by Joanna Wylde. And it was not because the book was great. It was because the book was so irritating and angered me so much I wanted to tear my hair out.

Sapphire – The Help by Katherine Stockett and The City by Dean Koontz.

11. Book that made you happy.

Amethyst – Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop. I was amused, and chuckling throughout.

Garnet – I started reading the Percy Jackson series this year and it made me really really happy. It was fun and hilarious and just plain AH-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

Sapphire – Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan, it’s Hilarious!

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year. 

Amethyst – The Help (2011)

Garnet – I got nothing. I haven’t seen any book to movie adaptations this year.

Sapphire – Haven’t seen a book to film adaptation yet.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

Amethyst – Magic Lost, Trouble Found by Lisa Shearin

Garnet – Moonstone Obsession by Elizabeth Ellen Carter

Sapphire – The Help by Katherine Stockett and The Grand Budapest Hotel.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received).

Amethyst – Prince Of Thorns by Mark Lawrence.

Garnet – Ironically enough These Broken Stars. Even though I didn’t much like the book, it is also the most beautiful book I own.

Sapphire – Broken Elements by Mia Marshall and Talus And The Frozen King by Graham Edwards.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Amethyst – Burn For Me by Ilona Andrews, since Ilona and Gordon Andrews are my favourite authors, and they are marvellous at what they do. Prince Of Fools by Mark Lawrence and Hamlet by William Shakespeare.

Garnet – Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost. I have to know how Jeaniene Frost will deal with the NA genre.

Sapphire – The Retribution of Mara Dyer simply for how long it has taken, The Blood Of Olympus and A Passage To India by E.M.Forster.

Leave a Reply

