Top Ten Tuesday #2: To Read or Not To Read

banner4

 Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

Amethyst’s Picks

fireborn

Fireborn by Keri Arthur

Keri Arthur has made her name, but I haven’t read any of her works yet. The synopsis for this book sounds interesting and I have always been curious about Phoenixes as such. I am hesitant to pick up this novel though, because of my expectations (with both the author and the concept).

not a penny

Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less by Jeffrey Archer

A book highly recommended by a fellow reader. But I remember another work I read by the author, which left me slightly confused regarding my emotions at the end. So I hesitate to read another one.

the winter king

The Winter King  by C.L. Wilson

The previous series was really good but a few negative events just sunk in deep. So while I would love to read another fantastic story from the author, I almost dread the ride she might take me on.

dracula

Dracula by Bram Stoker

After reading so much on vampires through fantasy novels, reading this classic is an obvious wish. But, I am currently sporting a big aversion from reading anything vampire related. Therefore, I am not sure if I should pick it up or not.

Garnet’s Picks

 

shadow spell

Shadow Spell by Nora Roberts

Even though I’ve read Dark Witch, I’m not so sure about Shadow Spell. There were a lot of similarities in Dark Witch with Nora Roberts’ other works, which has me hesitant to pick up Shadow Spell.

mark of demon

Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland

I’ve been recommended this book numerous times and I’ve tried reading it once or twice too, but I could never get into it. Now I’m not sure if I want to try to read it again.

reaper's legacy

Reaper’s Legacy by Joanna Wylde

I didn’t much like the first book, Reaper’s Property, so I’m not sure if I want to give this series another try.

Sapphire’s Picks

 

 moby dick

Moby-Dick by Herman Melville

gone with the wind

Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

hunchback of notre dame

The Hunchback Of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo

All three have been sitting in my shelf for the past few years and I’m not even sure why I bought Moby-Dick. I’ve picked up Gone With The Wind about 3-4 times, and have never gone beyond the first 20 pages. Notre-Dame has always fascinated me, but the French and the heavy writing means I haven’t moved beyond a few pages. Though I do hope I can finish it someday. As you may have noticed, all three have also been picked because of their sizes!

Leave a Reply

