Book Review: Living Dead Girl by Nessie Strange

3 gems

living dead girl

Even though after reading the blurb of the book, you know what is going to happen, Living Dead Girl starts off as a regular romance between a boy and a girl, with no hint of anything paranormal.

Jen MacLellan works as a mortician with her father and cousin. Her brother, Drew is a troublemaker and it is always up to Jen to clean up his messes and bring him on the right track. Having lost her mother almost six years ago, it is up to Jen to take care of her father and brother. But I hated the fact that despite everything Jen did for her family; they kept taking her for granted.

Jack is your regular wannabe singing sensation, except he can actually sing. Booze and women are what keep him going. When Jen walks up his door with all the sass she can muster looking for her kid brother, Jack feels a kick in the gut. After all there was no woman who never looked twice at him. Until Jen.

When Drew goes missing, Jen enlists the help of Jack to find him. What follows is a nice and comfortable friendship between the two of them. When out of the blue one day, Jack kisses her and she kisses him back, Jen starts rethinking her relationship with her boyfriend Craig. Honestly I never liked Craig. He was too full of himself and wanted to control Jen. Like her best friend PJ, even I thought Craig was cheating on Jen, but Jen just did not want to see it.

I liked Jen and Jack as a couple. They were good for each other. They were comfortable and very homey. Obviously we need a villain who hates them being together. Jack’s brother thinks having Jen in his life is going to take him away from their band, and he constantly acts like a jerk towards Jen. Then there is Merry, a girl from another band who claims to be the best person for Jack.

When one day after having a fight with Jack, Jen is found dead; Jack becomes the main suspect. Jen wakes up in the hospital with a Sid Vicious lookalike proclaiming her dead, Jen does not believe him. But after seeing her body and realising that she is dead, all Jen wants is to prove Jack innocent.

Honestly the murder mystery part of the story was not really mysterious to me. It was very obvious to me as to who killed Jen. After she was roughed up at the bar, there was no doubt about the culprit. That part of the story was not really strong and kinda disappointing.

The only zombie books I’ve read are My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland, which I stopped after five or six chapters. Because seriously brain eating zombies? Yuck. And other one was Gena Showalter’s Alice in Zombieland which I thoroughly enjoyed. Those zombies were not so yucky. So Jen as a zombie was in the middle of these two kinds of zombies. The process of returning Jen’s soul into her body and then pumping her with embalming fluid had a shiver running up my spine. And when she actually starts to bite and try to eat people, I was shuddering. Zombies are not my favourite, but this one wasn’t so bad.

I did like the ending of the book. I was happy with it. I can’t say anything more without giving away any spoilers, but I would like to read a second book, if there will be one.
The book was written well, though there were a few typos and grammatical mistakes. And I even liked the characterization. I am not a big fan of insta-love, so I was glad to see the relationship between Jen and Jack progressing as they go by, rather than falling in love the moment they met. Overall I liked the book. Not one of the best I’ve read, but not that bad either.

About Garnet

Hi, I am a 22 year old romantic buff with a love of books. I love to read and watch light crime shows. But my major love resides in reading. I am a biggggg fan of romance of any kind. Historical, contemporary, PNR, UF YA/NA, Romantic suspense/thrillers. I abhor infedility and hate love triangles. All my reviews also appear on my solo blog The Ever Romantic Arts View all posts by Garnet

Leave a Reply

