Book Review: Erased by Margaret Chatwin

4

Erased book cover

 

*** I received a copy of the this ebook through Read-It-And-Reap (Goodreads) for an honest review.***

After a long and tiring day, I was about to sleep but decided to just have a look at the book I was planning to read next. An hour and a half later I realised that sleep was a foregone thought. I could not let go of the book, it was that captivating.

Book Description (This blurb is what got me interested) :

There’s that moment – you know the moment – when you emerge from sub-consciousness and enter full awareness. Now imagine reaching that moment with a pounding head, throbbing body, hospital ID band around your wrist, and no memory. No idea why you hurt the way you do, or how you got where you are. No clue what your own name is, or who the people next to you are.

I’m seventeen-year-old Ryan Farnsworth, and that’s what happened to me. Now I have to walk a mile in my own, unfamiliar shoes; view myself through the eyes of a perfect stranger; live the life a former me chose. I also need to figure out why that former me tried to kill me.

As the blurb suggests, Ryan Farnsworth is a seventeen year old who has survived a suicide attempt but has lost all his memories in the process. This novel takes us through his journey as he rediscovers himself and  makes amends for his past sins.

The novel opens at the suicide scene and instantly sucks you in. It is a scene that could have easily been under-or-overwhelming. It was perfectly executed. And it was a good beginning. The author is to be applauded for her realistic narrative in the book. Written from the POV of a seventeen year old, it is a believable and empathic voice .

This was not my first time reading a novel in which the protagonist lost his/her memories. But it was one of the best I have read so far. Ryan is broken, not only because of the emotional strain but also because of the physical pain. He used to be a football jock, he now has the strength of a baby. He has to accept the fact that even a simple push can land him on his ass (and it does, many times).

Ryan’s painful struggle is palpable and his emotional pain potent through each and every page. There were moments when I wanted to introduce a few of the characters to a hammer. Really, he has so many broken bones (on the mend) and no memories, and they are just interested in him reclaiming his position on the game field! Seriously?

Ryan’s father was such an a**hole at times that you just wanted to beat the guy over the head to make him see the point and decide. He was also willfully blind. Ryan’s brother Lucas is a different case altogether.

We get only one life to live, Ryan is blessed to get two. In the first he is almost a monster. In the second we see him trying to make reparations, because even though he can change himself, he cannot change the past. Though I knew of his atrocious acts, I could not bring myself to hate him. Nor could I hate Luc, though his reactions seem unjustified for a part of the story.

I personally thought that the title is appropriate in more than one way.  Not only is Ryan’s memory erased, his whole personality is too. He is virtually a blank slate with a strong conscience. I also think that the title also stands true for Luc, though I won’t go into details.

For those who love a romantic angle, Ryan does have a sweet and innocent relationship. But what made this book special is the part about Luc and Ryan.  It is both painful and beautiful to witness.

This is a good book. I usually tend to avoid this genre (I am not fond of high school dramas and such), but not once did I feel that this book was a wrong pick. I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on another novel(same genre) by Maragret Chatwin. Enough said.

 

About Amethyst

Hi! My love for reading began at the age of 9, and now at the age of 23, its a passion. I read almost all genres (though I am moody about them). I prefer fiction and dislike tragic endings. And of course, I love good romances. View all posts by Amethyst

Leave a Reply

